Carla St. Juste

My name is Carla St. Juste. I was born in Haiti and I am 24 years old. I am about to finish my last year in electronic engineering at the State University of Haiti. The program of the university for the electronic engineering is quite diversified to the extent that it covers many areas such as telecommunication, computer networks, programming, electricity and electronic but in all fields of study that I just mentioned I am mainly interested in the telecommunication and computer networks, therefore, I’m thinking of doing a master in communications systems and network after getting my diploma.

In Haiti the technology is not at a top level and in addition to this unfortunate fact, the percentage of IT women is very low. In my university I identify this year in the last three grades of electronic engineering a number of 9 women out of 99 students. The lack of women in this sector can be explained by the fact that in my country we still see the science and technology as an area reserved strictly for men and it is also because women think it will be easier for them to succeed in other areas.

Since I am a student, I can not count how many times I had to face people who were surprised to learn that I am studying electronics engineering but every time in my heart I smile because I think although it may be a grain of sand in the Sahara but this grain of sand can be the beginning of a change in the way of thinking, proof that women can be in science and technology.

I see changing this sad reality as a challenge that I am ready and prepared to take up and this is what makes the project Women’s Peer-to-Peer Network arouses in me a great interest. I think with this project, women who are considering a career in science and technology in Haiti can gain more confidence and we can encourage the Haitian population to see women from another angle.  I also think the Women’s Peer-to-Peer Network help my country to take a step forward in technology and can really allow our strong business women in Haiti to do business more easily.  With my experience and my knowledge of some programming language like Java, C++, C#, HTML, it will be my pleasure to contribute to the success of the Women’s Peer-to-Peer Network.